For the Love of Glitter

As I make my way through my 58th year I’m reminded of how important it is to feed and nurture the little girl within—the little girl who was never fond of dresses and makeup but was always a fan of whatever sparkled. I found great joy in how the sun transformed a blanket of fresh-fallen snow into an enchanting sea of glittering diamonds. I wished I could cover EVERYTHING I owned in sequins. But the best I got was the occasional ‘tiara’ cut from aluminum foil.

I was recently reminded of my passion for the glittery and sparkly in April when I facilitated a book discussion. The light danced off what resembled Christmas tree tinsel in one participant’s hair. I of course had to ask about it. She proceeded to explain it was ‘fairy hair’ and her hairdresser attached it to her hair with a bead and a little tool.

Enthralled, I looked up ‘fairy hair’ and before I left book discussion I had ordered a kit complete with beads and the little tool that looked like a tiny latch hook.

But try as I might I couldn’t get the hang of attaching the pretty strands with the tool.

Enter Cheryl, my hairdresser.

For two months in a row now she has attached the fairy hair for me. By myself, I loop the pretty stuff through a tiny clear elastic; that’s the simplest way, I’ve found.

I blame Cheryl for mentioning “some people put GLITTER in their hair.”

The dickens, you say?! Why hadn’t I thought to do that?!

So my next online purchase is loose cosmetic-grade (NOT craft) glitter. After applying a little gel or spray for it to cling to, I take a little glitter & sprinkle it liberally all over my hair. If it lands on my neck, shoulders or anywhere else, all the better!

So I’ve decided to add glitter to my daily routine and it’s wonderful! Wish I’d started years ago.

Just remember, a little glitter goes a long way but a lot will take you farther!

5 thoughts on “For the Love of Glitter

Leave a comment